Character Classes

Character Classes Fotos by Fritz

How will you help your party make it through this adventure alive? 


View the Character Class Guide HERE .

Will you cleave your foes with your +1 Longsword?  Will you command the forces of the arcane against your party's foes?  Will you bolster your party with a rousing tune or will you use healing spells to cure their wounds?

The cool design of True Dungeon is that the degree of success you have with your chosen action is not done by a simple dice roll.  Rather, every character class has a special, real world test that they must perform in order to successful attack, cast a spell or pick a lock.

Fighters have the job of being accurate sliders on the combat table. Rangers must be able to slide two discs at once effectively. Clerics must be able to recall which spell focus item is best for a spell or turning. Wizards must be able to recall where a plane of existence is located to power a spell the most effectively. Rogues must have good nerves and steady hands to pick locks and disarm traps. Finally, bards will have the chance to recall the meaning of ancient glyphs that are found in the dungeon.

At the start of every True Dungeon adventure, players are given ample time to study or practice their class skill. At different times during the adventure, each player will need to perform their class skills in order to successfully complete tasks. For instance, the rogue player will have a chance to practice guiding a metal stylus through a small metal maze – without touching the sides of the maze. (This simulates the stressful act of disarming a trap in True Dungeon, where failure can lead to the character's demise.) Later during the adventure, the party comes upon a trapped chest they wish to open, and the Rogue player steps up. The player must then guide the stylus through the device in order to disarm the trap. If the task is completed without touching the sides, the DM will tell the group that the trap has been disarmed successfully. If the side is touched by the stylus, a red light will come on and the trap is said to have discharged.

We raised the level of all characters to 4th level in 2011, and you can even play a 5th level version of each character if you possess the "Trio of Might" magic items.  More info about the "Trio of Might" can be found in the Store section HERE.

Class Skill Tests

Bard: Memory test where a group of symbols (and their names) should be memorized.
Barbarian: Same as the fighter.
Cleric: Memory test where a group of prayer beads (and their names) should be memorized.
Druid: Memory test where a group of leaves (and their names) should be memorized.
Fighter: Hand and eye coordination test as a sliding counter must be slid into a certain area.
Monk: Similar to the fighter, but the monk must slide two counters in rapid succession.
Paladin: Same as the fighter.
Ranger: Similar to the fighter, but the ranger must slide two counters simultaneously.
Rogue: Dexterity tests that involve nerves and a steady hand as a metal stylus is manipulated though an “Operation game” type device.
Wizard: Memory test where a diagram of planes of existences should be memorized.


NOTE:  We added two new Characters this year for a total of 12 characters.  The Dwarf Fighter and the Elf Wizard operation just like their Fighter and Wizard counterparts with respect to their Class Skill Tests, but they have some special abilities that make them a little different.

You can see all the Character Cards inside the Resources section at the top of the page.

Read 11633 times